Secure Erase

Most of Solid State Drives (SSD) support Secure Erase and use it for the physical deletion of all memory blocks on the media. KillDisk Industrial is able use SSD SATA Secure Erase feature and perform fast unrecoverable erasure. By doing this, you can increase the performance of frequently used SSDs for future use. All of the data will be lost. Before using this feature make sure user fully understands the concepts of the feature.

Warning:

100% FATAL DAMAGE GUARANTEED TO MEDIA IF THE PROCESS INTERRUPTED (POWER OUTAGE, UNAUTHORIZED SSD EXTRACTION, ETC.)

Make sure your hardware setup is safe from sudden lost of power.

Do not interrupt the process of Secure Erase in any manner.

Note:

If there is a need to erase ALL data (existing and deleted) from the hard drive device permanently with sanitation standards (US DoD 5220.22-M, Canadian OPS-II, NSA 130-2 etc.), use Disk Erase feature.

In order to use Secure Erase to erase Solid State Drives:

  1. Select a disk for Secure Erase

    Select disks marked as in Disk Explorer > Local Devices View. You may select multiple disks to be erased simultaneously

  2. Execute Secure Erase command from Actions menu or use context menu:
    Figure 1: Initiating Secure Erase
  3. Confirm Secure Erase Options:
    Use tabbed views to adjust Secure Erase preferences if necessary. Available options are:
    Note:

    In case of a frozen SSD drive has been selected for erasing the following message appears in Disk Secure Erase tab:

    Figure 2: Frozen disks
  4. Click Start to reach the final step before erasing disk data

    Confirm Secure Erase action by typing a predefined keyphrase and the process starts

    Figure 3: Secure Erase confirmation
    Note:

    There is no progress indicator available for Secure Erase. The feature is implemented inside SSD controller. There is only "elapsed" time available:

After Secure Erase process is completed the Processing Summary dialog appears

Figure 4: Processing Summary

Now you may Print, Browse or Open Secure Erase Certificate and Reports (XML). If there are any errors they will be reported on the interactive screen and in Erase History Disk Processing Results.